We’re Moving… or at least We’re Trying!

Leave a comment

October 31, 2014 by Julia West

Pardon our dust and please try to ignore any swearing you might hear. I decided to take the plunge and bought a real web address and outside hosting. I’ve just got enough tech savvy to be dangerous and not enough to get this done without help. My husband is a geek, but his assistance needs to be limited for the sake of marital harmony.  While I’m hoping to have everything in place by the end of this weekend, I will be making the move official after people have had time to see this post and update accordingly.

The new address is http://all-around-dogs.com (don’t forget the “Dashes!”)

This switch means a couple of things for you, the audience:

  • If you subscribe to my blog via email, WordPress is transferring that service and you will still receive my posts.
  • If you subscribe and view via the WP Reader, you will need to follow my new blog because WordPress won’t automatically put my content into their reader anymore.
  • If you follow via social media, things should stay the same although the old links may be down for a little while. And if you haven’t seen in already, check out the blog’s new Facebook page.

Also, in the transfer to a paid site, I’ll be experimenting with monetizing the site through affiliate programs and similar ventures. These will allow me to drive customers to products I believe in and support my blogging. I will be posting information and all appropriate disclosures on the new site as things develop.

Thank you for your patience and if you’ve gone through this pain before, please share any tips…

We're all ears!

We’re all ears!

In other news, you may have noticed that I posted a lot more than normal this month. I (unofficially) participated in Blogtober, a challenge to post every day for the entire month of October. It was an interesting experience for me.

PRO: It was easier to produce content because I was writing so frequently. I saw a significant increase in traffic and followers, showing that frequency definitely does help performance.

CON: What bothered me about the experiment is that some days I posted simply to fulfill the daily requirement. Many of them did not have much (if any) depth. Very few had the sort of thoughtful contemplation that I value in my writing.

But sometimes my very “lightest” content got the highest amount of traffic, which reminds me that I don’t always have to take my content (and myself) so seriously.

Hey, that’s deep.

Leave a comment